Tags

, , ,

Hu, Elise. “How Blogging And Twitter Are Making Us Smarter.” 17 September 2013. NPR. NPR, n.d. Web. 06 Oct. 2014.<http://www.npr.org/blogs/alltechconsidered/2013/09/17/223357881/how-blogging-and-twitter-are-making-us-smarter&gt;

This article was a short excerpt of two main articles from writer and columnist Clive Thompson. Just by seeing the title of this article, I was ready to totally rule out that it makes people smarter. However, blogging has its cons, but it also has its pros. This article was a really interesting read because it shed a positive stance on blogging. To me, blogging could be about anything. Therefore, I understood why Twitter would be considered a “blog,” but I definitely did not agree that it would make people smarter because all the tweets that I see are mostly dumb. Going back to this article, when one writes a blog one is passionate about the subject being written. For example, if one is involved in politics and is debating about a political issue there will be people who agree and disagree. The clashing argument with the blogger’s opinion will provide new perspectives on the issue and stronger supporting details to convince their opinions. This not only provides new perspectives and more convincing details, but also molds each side to be attentive and smarter like the article says. Before, I read this article I never thought of it this way. I honestly thought the kids below our generation were stupid, but because blogging has prompted people all over the world to interact in an efficient manner more information is gathered to further their thinking and provide new insights. This is a great source that I will use because it clashed with what I was thinking.

