Hi everyone (better late than never)! My name is Erin and I’m a senior majoring in Journalism & Media Studies. Previously I was pursuing a business (marketing) major at Iona College in New Rochelle, NY, but after transferring to Rutgers, I realized it would take me years more to graduate from the Business School, and also that I never wanted to take another math class again. Coming from a small, 4000-student private college to a university as big as Rutgers was definitely a culture shock, but I can finally say that I love it!

Despite “home” only being fifteen minutes away, my involvement on campus has provided me with people who make up another family for me – making it feel worlds away from the town where I grew up. A big part of it was just getting out of my comfort zone and joining new things. I’m currently an Assistant Director for the Rutgers University Programming Association, PR Chairperson for Phi Mu, a dancer in the Rutgers Performing Dance Company, peer mentor for a transfer Living Learning Community, and Vice President of the Association for Women in Communications. While it’s a bit overwhelming at times, my determination (combined with stubbornness) is what helps me power through it.

Another thing I love is music. Live music has been a large part of my life since I was a moody teenager attending sweaty rock shows and getting pushed around in mosh pits. This past March, I had one of the best experiences of my life at Ultra Music Festival in

With my friends at Ultra! (I'm 3rd from the right)

With my friends at Ultra! (I’m 3rd from the right)

Miami. All of my experiences – combined with some learned media and technical skills – are the reason I’m planning on pursuing a career in the music or radio industry. I’m interested to see where my current path takes me as well as excited to be blogging with this class!

