Tags

,

Hello, class my name is Rebecca. I am an English student minoring in Comparative Literature. This summer was extremely busy for me, but I spent my free time reading and training for my first triathlon, The Jersey Girl Triathlon, which I completed on August 3rd.

One of the favorite things I read this summer was “Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal” by Jeanette Winterson. This autobiography was interesting because it was the first book I had read by Winterson, I went on to read another of her books later on in the summer, and I loved her honest style of writing. She told stories about her childhood and teenage years that took bravery and confidence. I felt like she was privately telling me of her difficult past. I wish I had the bravery she has to broadcast my experiences the way she has.

I started training for my triathlon in March and continued to train through the summer up until the race day. It consisted of 300 meter swim, 11 mile bike, and a 3.2 mile run. It was a challenging experience. There were many days when I simply wanted to lay around and hang out with my friends but I had to go on a 15 or so mile bike ride. However crossing that finish line made all the training and sacrifice worth it. It was one of the most mentally challenging 1 1/2 hours of my life but I’m already looking forward to doing it again next summer.

